INDIAN WELLS CITY COUNCIL December 15, 2022



To: City Council

From: City Manager Department **Prepared by:** Angelica Avila, City Clerk

Subject: A Resolution Certifying the General and Special

Municipal Election held on November 8, 2022, Declaring the Results Thereof, and Such Other

Matter as are Provided by Law

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

Council **ADOPTS** Resolution reciting the facts of the consolidated General and Special Municipal Election held in the City of Indian Wells on November 8, 2022, declaring the results thereof, and such other matters as are provided by law.

DISCUSSION:

On May 19, 2022, the City Council adopted a resolution calling and giving notice of the general and special municipal election to be held on Tuesday, November 8, 2022, concurrently with the statewide general election. The Council requested the Riverside County Board of Supervisors to "consolidate" the municipal election with the Statewide Election, allowing the Registrar of Voters to conduct the logistics of the election.

Slated for the general municipal election were two (2) City Councilmember seats held by Dana Reed and Richard Balocco. These seats will be elected for a full 4-year term. In addition, due to a vacancy on the City Council from Kimberly Muzik's resignation, the City Council also called a special municipal election to fill the vacancy pursuant to California Government Code section 36512 for the remaining two-year term.

At the closing of the nomination period on August 17, 2022, five (5) qualified candidates filed papers for a 4-year term Councilmember and two (2) qualified candidates filed for a partial 2-year term.

For Council Member, Full Term (4 years)	Total		
BRUCE WHITMAN		991	25.73%
DANA REED		907	23.55%
TOPER TAYLOR		784	20.36%
DOUGLAS HANSON		648	16.83%
IVAN MOAD		521	13.53%

For Council Member, Partial Term (2 years)	Total	
EDWARD TY PEABODY	1,141	53.97%
TED J. MERTENS	973	46.03%

There are 3,280 registered voters in Indian Wells. The number of ballots cast in the City was 2550 making a turnout total of 77.74 %. The results show that Bruce Whitman and Dana Reed received the highest number of votes, respectively, for office of City Councilmember 4-year term and Edward Ty Peabody received the highest number votes for the partial 2-year term. In accordance with Elections Code 10265, following the adoption of the Resolution, the City Clerk or designee will administer an Oath of Office to the newly elected officers, who will then officially commence their terms of office.

FISCAL IMPACT:

There is no fiscal impact.

ATTACHMENTS:

1. Resolution